top of page

The Art of Letting Go


Finally got our first letter with the "tentative" move in date :) Keeping our "fingers crossed that it won't be extended* & so, Let the Countdown B E G I N ! 8 more months till we move into our first condo together :) !!

To prepare for our first move I'll be posting one post per month from October to June about our future condo and what designs inspires us.

  • collection of different themed rooms

  • furniture

  • colour swatches

  • handy appliances

  • hints & tips.. etc... etc...etc

But, first comes first... I really have to throw out some of the many things I've collected over the years... Moving from a house to a condo is never easy, so... to help me with the decluttering, I found this very useful list on mydomaine.com <<< A little about mydomaine, it's a carefully curated everyday lifestyle & advice blog that you can subscribe to. Once you're a subscriber, it sends you a daily email with the latest advice on topics like home decor, travel, food etc.

- Side notes aside -

Time to start our first Hints&Tips:

First things first.. I think I'm a bit of a hoarder...

Symptoms:

  1. I like to keep boxes... shoe boxes, gift boxes, appliance boxes... just boxes in general...I like to keep them all. <Logic> I might use them during Christmas when I'm hysterically looking for a box to wrap my gift in or when I move someday, it'll be easy to pack.

  2. I like to cut the strings off of gift bags and shopping bags <Logic> The bag might be broken, but the string is still intact.. may need it in the future to wrap presents or just for DIY projects

  3. I like to keep old clothes w/ cool patterns <Logic> You never know, I may want to make a quilt someday

  4. I like to keep all of my cards & letters from the day I was born till forever... <Logic> Maybe one day I'll frame them all and make a pretty little collage for my wall

  5. I like to keep every single magazine issue <Logic> DIY projects, obviously =.=

  6. I have trouble parting with my stuffed animals <Logic> Because it brings back childhood memories

  7. I like to keep every single sock I find in my wardrobe <Logic> In case the other sock shows up some day...

  8. I like to keep all my old textbooks and school notes from Elementary school to University <Logic> My kids may have a questions in the future and I can look it up :P

  9. I like to keep all the warranty booklets from all my appliances <Logic> In case I need to re-learn how to use them or it breaks and I have to send it in

  10. I have a collection of random USB cords, chargers & weird plugs <Logic> Maybe one day I'll need to use it if I happen to figure out which electronic device it belonged to...

So, the concept of letting go isn't something I'm very good at. But, in order to move from a house to a condo, it's an art I must master within the next 8 months, starting with this list:

  1. Old magazines: I subscribe to Cosmo and I have every single issue

  2. Birthday cards, holiday cards etc.

  3. Love letters & notes from friends and old significant others: Remember when we use to have to pass notes in class because we didn't have cell phones to text.. I have every single piece of note I ever passed..

  4. Clothes that are too small, not cute, have holes or bleached in the wash

  5. Programs/tickets from showsm art exhibits, concerts & sporting events: Must start addding it into the scrapbook

  6. Childhood toys, stuffed animals, and momentos

  7. Paperwork and files from irrelevant past jobs

  8. Socks that don’t have a match

  9. Expired products

  10. Old, crusty gross makeup

  11. Old textbooks

  12. Office supplies you don’t use << How many pens does one need?

  13. Printed recipes you tried and didn’t like

  14. Books you’ve read and didn’t like....... SO MANY OF THESE, should I re read them all to make sure I actually don't like them ... hmmmm

  15. Empty shoe boxes

-

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page